High winds are not a cheapskate’s friend.

As I lay here on my bed with my laptop perched precariously on my screen-free window sill while 50mph winds blow past me through the gaping porthole a thought comes to mind: wouldn’t it make more sense to just get a
wireless signal of my very own?

Rubbish. Fiddlesticks. Nonsense!

I’ll admit it. I’ve been known to be cheap. To find a way to get something/do something in unconventional ways if it means saving myself time/money/hassle/etc. This happens to be one of those things. I have a hard time rationalizing paying for home internet when 1) I can dangle dangerously from my bedroom window during gale force winds and magically find my way onto the internet and 2) I can name over a dozen different places around town where I can plant myself safely and use some public high speed.

On one hand, it does twist the knickers of success for an aspiring blogger to have no ready and reliable connection at home for when, say at 1:35 in the a.m. inspiration strikes.

On the other hand, if I had unlimited and uninhibited access to all things webby I would lose a dear old friend: a wonderful (in my own mind) reason to procrastinate when it comes to my writing.

Decisions, decisions.

In the meantime, here’s a random but super cool video that you can spend countless minutes – dare I say hours – procrastinating with.

Frankie Manning (at 70-something years old, mind you) demonstrating the dance he made famous around the world, a Swing line dance called the Shim Sham.



Oh, and check out Frankie Manning’s birthday video from fans all across the world. Super awesome.


~h
(up next: to nano or not to nano, why Life Sucks a little less, and why I hate computers with touchpads)

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “High winds are not a cheapskate’s friend.

  1. Lynne

    Oh Heather. I don’t need any more encouragement to screw around instead of working.

Leave a Reply

